Where it all started…

I wanted to start this blog to talk about and share some thoughts about one of the things that has meant the most to me and has always been there for me no matter what, and that is music.  My musical tastes tend to be all over the map and I like many different genres and different types of music, if it makes me feel something than it doesn’t really matter what the genre is.  I tend to like a lot of metal and hard rock and music that tends to be quite over the top, quite the opposite of my personality, which may be why I was drawn to a lot of the music I listen to.

I  can pinpoint 3 songs/bands/albums that were instrumental in the molding of my musical tastes today.

1.  Meat Loaf- Bat Out Of Hell 2-  I know people may see this and laugh, but I am serious when I say I loved this album when it came out and I listened to this album countless times.  It was probably the first real rock album I bought.  It was so over the top and I loved every minute of it.  The combination of Meat Loaf’s voice and Jim Steinman’s songs was just magic to me.  It was also the first time I really was exposed to longer songs, any song over 5 minutes to me at that young of an age was an eternity.

2.  Child In Time- Deep Purple-  When I first heard this song I was amazed, it had everything that I wanted to hear in a song.  All 10 minutes and 18 seconds were perfection.  The slow build up, the amazing vocals of Ian Gillan, the amazing instrumental section, just Ritchie Blackmore in general.   I loved it all and I still do.

3.  Estranged- Guns n’ Roses- This was another song that I felt had everything I wanted to hear.  What really stood out to me was the awesome, powerful guitar solos from Slash all through out.  To me this song was all about emotion.  Slash’s guitar work combined with Axl’s lyrics and vocals.  It was perfect and I would literally listen to this song for hour on end.

Combine the pure grandiose, over the top style of Bat Out Of Hell 2, with the powerhouse vocals and virtuosic  playing in Child In Time, and the power and emotion in Estranged and you have a perfect description of the music I love and enjoy.

Throughout the blog I want to share my thoughts mostly on whatever songs, albums, artists or specific genres I am enjoying at the moment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

